Gods Country Off Road Duathlon 2011

Since the mountain bike race on Saturday was cancelled. I headed to the River Trails on Sunday to get some racing in the books. I needed to get some race intensity laps in to boost the fitness level. The race was a 2.5 mile run and 11 mile bike and then a sprint to the finish line. The race went ok I didn’t have good legs so I ran at my typical training pace and then hoped to make up some ground on the bike. At one point someone on the trail was calling out spots on and I was 47th so the last 1/2 mile I picked up the pace and passed a few people. Hopped on the bike and tried to put it on the red line for the whole 11 miles. I felt OK but couldn’t keep the speed I wanted but I was passing people and wasn’t hurting so I think it is just early in the season and I need to tweak the training a little. Finished in 9th place so I’ll take that for the first race of the season. Next up is the Bone Bender 3/6hr race. The plan is to race the 6hr.

Leave a Reply

